Name: Suzanne Pushey, RN, but people call me Sue.

Tell us about yourself?

About your job: I am an RN, Case Manager. I have worked in a case management role for 15 years in Home Health, although the name of the company has changed from Essent, then it was purchased by Southwest Regional Medical Center and finally, Washington Health System Greene. Basically the same company, just a shift in ownership.

COVID-19 has added a few obstacles to my job. A discharge visit, which is routinely made in person in the patient’s room, is now made by phone if at all possible. We are also diligent about keeping up to date with the ever changing requirements to place a patient in a skilled facility. There are a number of ever changing factors such as the requirements for COVID-19 testing before discharge or at discharge, changes in visitation policies, as well as the changes at the accepting home health facilities.

Education: I have been an LPN since age 18. I went back to school at the age of 39 to earn my degree in registered nursing. I graduated from WCCC.

Hobbies outside of work: I enjoy reading, hiking and biking. And if you consider grand-parenting a hobby, then that would be my absolute favorite!

Family, pets, etc? I come from a family of seven. I have 2 brothers and 4 sisters. I have two children, and my husband and I are blessed with 2 beautiful grand-daughters, Ella and Mara, and the sweetest grandson ever, Owen. I do not have pets because my granddaughter has allergies.

What is your favorite ice cream flavor?

My favorite ice cream flavor is chocolate with peanut butter. I usually go to Dairy Queen though for an ice cream sandwich!

What does your ideal vacation look like?

I love the outdoors, hiking, biking, beaches and sea food. We often have extended family vacations, with the last one being in Utah where we rented a house and spent the week playing board games, cooking, shopping, hiking, sightseeing, fishing, and watching movies together.

Tell us what you love about your family.

We have a lot of laughs when we get together. We help each other with big jobs, like tearing down a shed or painting, and we have fun doing it! We have good conversations and usually end up walking and talking or biking together.

What skill or talent do you wish you had?

I wish I was more tech savvy.

What do you do on a typical work day?

I come in at 7am and leave at 5pm. I review and submit cases via computer and or fax. I make visits with my patients and set them up for a safe discharge with whatever they may need…a ride, oxygen, home health, a skilled facility, meals on wheels, help with medication costs, in home care, etc.

What do you want to tell people, or want them to know, about the COVID-19 pandemic and/or about WHS?
It’s real. I believe it’s possible that we could see an increase in cases this fall. I, like most people, am anxious for a vaccine. I want our community to know that Washington Health System takes this virus seriously, and is taking extra precautions to protect its employees and patients the best they can.

Suzanne Pushey, RN

Photos of Family

Suzanne Pushey, RN