Name: Casey Cox, MSW

Tell me about yourself?

About your job: Social Worker

How long have you been employed at WHS? 5 and ½ years

Was it always in the same department? I worked on the behavioral health unit as a Milieu Therapist for 2 years and then moved to the Case Management Department as a Social Worker. I have floated all over the hospital but have recently landed on the Innovation Unit/4C.

Education: I’m a McGuffey High School Graduate. I went to Thiel College in Greenville, PA to receive my undergraduate degree in Psychology and Sociology. I attended California University of Pennsylvania to obtain my Master’s Degree in Social Work.

Hobbies outside of work: I enjoy spending time with my family and friends, shopping, laying by the pool, working out and taking care of my herb garden at home. My husband and I are big fans of vacationing to the beach especially Valentin Imperial Riviera Maya in Mexico.

Family, pets, etc? I have been happily married for almost 2 years to my high school sweetheart Nicholas. We have been together for 11 years. No children yet, especially since our fur baby Kane takes up the majority of our time! He is 4 years old and we’ve had him for about a year. We love him so much already! My father Edward Smith, mother Robin Smith and 2 sisters Stephanie Smith and Emily Smith all live locally.

What’s your favorite memory from your child hood?

My favorite memory from my childhood is going to the Outer Banks every year with my mom, dad and 2 sisters. My dad loves to fish and it was always fun fishing with him the morning when no one else was on the beach.

What was the last thing you were really excited about?

The last thing I was really excited about was going to Mexico in June with my family and some of our friends. Our trip was postponed until September but will be just as fun!

What is your favorite breakfast food?

My favorite breakfast food is definitely my dad’s home cooked bacon egg and cheese bagel. No one makes it better than him!

What do you enjoy doing on the weekends?

I enjoy spending time with my husband, friends and family. I enjoy walking my dog Kane (when he isn’t chasing birds) and spending time by the pool. On a rainy day there is nothing better than curling up on the couch watching Greys Anatomy or the Office.

What is something that you would “highly recommend”? (places to shop, or a restaurant, a place to go on vacation, etc)

I would highly recommend my nail salon Kay’s Beauty Bar! The girls are amazing at what they do and will always make you laugh. Their salon recently relocated to Canonsburg which is a bonus for me because they’re closer to my house. They offer nail, skincare, and lash services.

What do you want people to know about WHS?

I want everyone to know that we’re all in this together.

What do you want people to know about the COVID 19 situation?

I want everyone to know that the hospital is a safe place to be if you need care. I feel the safest when I am at work because Washington Hospital is taking all of the necessary steps and following protocols to keep patients, families and staff members safe.

Casey Cox, MSW

Photos of Family

Casey Cox, MSW
Casey Cox, MSW