Name: Donna Kay Wickham

Tell us about yourself?

About your job:  Certified Nursing Assistant at WHS Greene

How long have you been employed at WHS?  3 years

Was it always in the same department?  I’ve always been assigned to work on the 3rd floor Acute Care unit.  Occasionally I get pulled to work in the ER and when we had the BHU unit I would work on that unit as well.

What extra duties have you taken on during COVID 19 (if any)?  I have worked as a greeter to ensure visitors are following our facility’s guidelines to ensure their safety and ours.

Education:  I graduated from West Greene High School.  Proud Pioneer!!

Hobbies outside of work:  My husband and I enjoy spending our free time riding our motorcycles, going camping, and riding our side by side playing in the mud. Anytime I get to spend with my kids and grandkids is a blessing.

Family, pets, etc?  My husband, Travis, and I have been married for 6 years, but have known each other for 30+ years.  I have 3 adult children: Michael, Brittany and Kaleb. Michael and his wife, Andrea, have two kids: Kitarah and Onyx. Brittany and her husband, Josh, have three kids: Joshua, Oliver and Emily. And Kaleb is married to Alexis.  I come from a family with three siblings: Steve, Denise and Everett. My brother, Steve, and his wife, Grace, live in Kentucky. My sister, Denise, is married to Rick. And, sadly I lost my brother Everett in 2001. I have some wonderful nieces and nephews. I also have a cat named Gracie.

As a child, what did you want to be when you grew up?

I wanted to go to the marines or be a truck driver.

Why did you decide to do the work you do now?

My dad was a medic in the army, and my mom was a caregiver all her life. So I grew up around it.

If you were given a free plane ticket to visit anywhere in the world, where would it be and why?

I would go somewhere with a beach. I love the beach, but I don’t have any desire to leave the United States. So just going to the Grand Canyon and out west with my husband on our motorcycles, rather than making a trip by plane, would be alright with me.

What skill or talent would you most like to learn or improve?

I would like to learn how to play the guitar. I guess it wouldn’t hurt if I could sing too. I do sing now mainly in the car.  I’m just not good at it.  LOL.

Who is the funniest person in your family?

My sister Denise is very witty and always has a comeback for everything.  I mean, anyone that would put socks on a dead deer is pretty funny.

What do you want to tell people, or want them to know, about the COVID-19 pandemic and/or about WHS?

There will be an end to all this chaos someday and we can learn from this and hopefully be more prepared for the next big thing.

Donna Wickham
Donna Wickham
Donna Wickham